The Society for French Historical Studies



French Historical Studies (SFHS Journal, site at University of South Carolina)


Past Conference Programs

Academic Prizes and Awards

Past Winners


Executive Committee





Copyright © 2008 by the Society for French Historical Studies, all rights reserved. The Society for French Historical Studies permits the electronic distribution for nonprofit educational purposes, provided that full and accurate credit is given to the author, the date of publication, and its location on the H-France website. No republication or distribution by print media will be permitted without permission. For any other proposed uses, contact the Editor-in-Chief of H-France.

Maintained by the H-France Web Editorial Team

Pinkney Prize | Chinard Prize | Koren Prize
Research Travel Award| Marjorie M. and Lancelot L. Farrar Memorial Award| The Natalie Zemon Davis Graduate Student Award


The Society for French Historical Studies announces the David H. Pinkney Prize competition for the best book in French history published for the first time in 2016 by a citizen of the United States or Canada.  An author of any nationality who holds a full-time appointment at a U.S. or Canadian college or university is also eligible. Books on any aspect and period of French history will be considered. Submissions in advance of publication are not eligible, nor are edited works. The deadline for submissions is 15 December 2016. The winner, who receives $1,500, will be announced at the annual meeting of the society.

Publishers should send one copy of the submission to each of the committee members listed below.

Committee Members:

Anne Lester (Chair)
Department of History
University of Colorado
234 UCB, 204 Hellem Bldg
Boulder, CO 80309-0234

Mack Holt
George Mason University
Department of History and Art History
Robinson Hall B 226
4400 University Drive, 3G1
Fairfax, VA 22030

Joshua Cole
Department of History
1029 Tisch Hall
University of Michigan
435 S. State St.
Ann Arbor MI 48109

Bejamin C. Brower
History Department
University of Texas at Austin
128 Inner Campus Dr. B7000
GAR 1.104
Austin, TX 78712

Contact 2016-2017:
c/o Daniel Foliard
Université Paris Ouest Nanterre
La Défense
200, avenue de la République,
Bâtiment V
92001 Nanterre Cedex


The Gilbert Chinard Prize is awarded jointly by the Society for French Historical Studies and the Institut Français d'Amerique for a distinguished scholarly book published in North America in 2016 in the history of themes shared by France and North, Central, or South America. Historical studies of any area or period are acceptable. The prize of $1,000 is awarded annually for a book. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the Society for French Historical Studies. The deadline for submissions is 15 December 2016.

Copies of books should be sent to EACH committee member:

Committee Members:

Carl Bouchard (Chair)
Departement d'histoire
Universite de Montreal
C.P. 6128. succursale Centre-ville
Montreal, QC H3C 3J7 CANADA

Professor Catherine Desbarats
Department of History and Classical Studies
McGill University
855 Sherbrooke St. West
Montreal, QC

Professor Jennifer Heuer
Department of HIstory
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Herter Hall
161 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003-9312


This prize of $1,000 is awarded to the outstanding journal article published on any era of French history by a North American scholar in an American, European, or Canadian journal during 2016. The committee will seek out the entries and announce the recipient of the award at the annual meeting of the Society for French Historical Studies.

Committee Members:

Gillian Weiss, CHAIR
Department of History
Case Western Reserve University
Mather House Room 106
11201 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106-7107

Sean Field
Department of History
University of Vermont
133 South Prospect Street
Burlington, VT 05405

Ian Coller
UCI Department of History
200 Murray Krieger Hall
Irvine, CA 92697-3275

Sandrine Sanos
History Department
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
6300 Ocean Avenue
Corpus Christi, TX 78412

Past Winners


The Society for French Historical Studies and the Western Society for French History offer an annual award of $2,000 for research conducted outside North America on any aspect of the history of France. This award is granted to an outstanding American or Canadian scholar who has received the doctorate in history in the five-year period prior to the award (since January 2011 for the 2016 award.) The award must be spent no more than one year after the fellowship is awarded. In no more than two pages (single-spaced), the applicant should outline the nature and scope of the project and the archives and libraries to be consulted. The applicant must submit a copy of the project proposal and a curriculum vitae to the Chair of the Awards Committee listed below as email attachments. In addition, the applicant must send or have sent two confidential letters of recommendation supporting the proposal to the Committee Chair. If reference letters are sent electronically, they must be signed and scanned.  If original copies of reference letters are sent, they must be sent to the Committee chair. The deadline is 31 January 2017. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the Society for French Historical Studies. Please direct inquiries to the chair of the committee listed below.

Committee Members:

Nina Kushner CHAIR
Deparment of History
Clark University

Stéphane Gerson
Department of French
19 University Place, 625
New York, New York (US) 10003

Jeffrey Burson
Department of History
Georgia Southern Univ
PO Box 8054
Statesboro, GA 30460-8054

stephane.gerson@nyu.eduPast Winners


The Farrar fellowships honor Marjorie M. Farrar and Lancelot L. Farrar.  Marjorie M. Farrar, esteemed historian of modern France, was the author of books on the political career of Alexadre Millerand and on the strategy, politics, and diplomacy of the French blockade, 1914-1918.  Lancelot L. Farrar, esteemed historian of modern Europe, was the author of books on the foreign and domestic policies of Germany and other European nations during World War I.  The generous donations of the Farrars' family, friends, and colleagues make possible two awards of $5000 each for doctoral students in French history at North American universities to support work on outstanding dissertations projects in progress.  In selecting the winner of ONE of the TWO awards, the awards committee will give strong preference to studies that relate French history to that of another European country or part of the world.  The awards are administered by the Society for French Historical Studies and announced at the Society's annual meeting.

The Society for French Historical Studies (SFHS) awards the Natalie Zemon Davis prize for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the Society's annual meeting.  The next meeting will be in Washington DC on 20-22 April 2017.

To be eligible one must:
1) Be currently enrolled as a graduate student
2) Attend the annual meeting of the SFHS and present a paper
3) Be a member of the SFHS
4) Submit a paper with a total word count of no more than 3500 words, including the scholarly apparatus.  The paper should be sent as an attachment in Microsoft Word.

The deadline for submitting a paper in 2016 is 15 May 2016.  The paper should be sent as an e-mail attachment to the Committee members listed above under the
Research Travel Awards.               

Past Winners